top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrayden Sharp-Chrunik

Reflections on MHST 601


 

My first course of my Master of Health Studies program has been a range of emotions. Challenging, informative, rewarding, and ultimately beneficial are adjectives I would use to describe my experience. I have had the opportunity to spend the last 3 months with some amazing leaders in the health care industry, from all walks of life, and all around Canada. The opportunity to learn not only presented itself from the course material and professor, but from the peers I had the opportunity to share this experience with.


This was the first online course I had every completed, and I have to say, I really enjoyed it. Having the ability to work at my own pace, with a structured course outline and modules that did not confine my learning experience but rather provide a starting point to allow me to learn on my own, as well as the many group discussion opportunities to hear from any number of health leaders, really made this course unique to any others I have taken.


Taking a course load and completing full time work at the same time has offered its challenges, especially considering peoples lives don't take a day off. There were plenty of nights where I worked late and then spent the remaining hours of my evening completing forum posts, reading and researching content, but it was enjoyable all the same. I am definitely interest to see what the next course has to offer.


Throughout this course I learned a lot of things that will help me be a better leader as well as a more knowledgeable health care provider. Defining Health and learning the WHO definition before delving into the social determinants of health and spheres of influence when it comes to assessing ones health were very interesting. Legislation around the Canadian and provincial health care systems is not the most engaging topic however I found it beneficial to learn how the legislation has progressed and what gaps still reside between the federal and provincial system. Working everyday with a vulnerable population made learning about vulnerable populations and chronic disease topics I could readily apply to my day to day work right away. They also afforded me more knowledge and understanding to both advocate and inform others on the history of these groups. Future considerations allowed everyone in the class to research where current trends within health care see us heading as well as future potential ideas in which we see ourselves championing as leaders.


Overall, I really enjoyed the experience and look forward to continuing my journey in the next course. Until next time.

 

Brayden Sharp-Chrunik BSc.


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page